The Cabinet of Curiosities

Welcome to the Cabinet of Curiosities. Please enter.

No, really, come in. The Curators are delighted you are here. They invite you to turn a page, pull open a drawer, peek inside a room, slither into a nook. In fact, they insist.

The Curators guarantee you will find something . . . curious.

A collection of thirty-six forty eerie, mysterious, intriguing, and very short stories by the acclaimed authors Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire Legrand, and Emma Trevayne. The Cabinet of Curiosities is perfect for fans of Alvin Schwartz’s Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and anyone who relishes a good creepy tale. Great for reading alone or reading aloud at camp or school!

The book features an introduction and commentary by the authors and black-and-white illustrations throughout.

★ “A hefty sheaf of chillers—all short enough to share aloud and expertly cast to entice unwary middle graders a step or two into the shadows.” – Kirkus Reviews, starred review

a 2014 Junior Library Guild selection

PRAISE

a 2014 Junior Library Guild selection

a Bank Street Best Book of the Year, 2014

“Deliciously eerie short stories lure readers down dark and winding paths from which they may never return.” – New York Public Library’s 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing, 2014

★ “A hefty sheaf of chillers—all short enough to share aloud and expertly cast to entice unwary middle graders a step or two into the shadows.” – Kirkus Reviews, starred review

★ “This collection of 36 short dark fantasies . . . aspires to sit on the same shelf as Alvin Schwartz’s Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and succeeds admirably. . . . Readers who enjoy their Halloween chills all year round will find this anthology a delight.” – Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Fans of shivery tales will find much to appreciate here, from dolls who love their playmates a little too much to luck that comes at a high price.” – School Library Journal

“Not for the faint of heart, this curious collection of stories will haunt and, at times, horrify and are best read by flashlight.” – Booklist

“With eight drawers–the themes tucked within the Cabinet of Curiosities–and four curators (authors), this collection of 36 goosepimply tales flows smoothly, one into the next, and will offer plenty for boys and girls to keep them up at night, around the campfire or in a tent by flashlight.” – Shelf Awareness

“The stories are remarkable both for their uniformly high quality and for their distinctness from one another; the abundant atmospherics, including occasional stark black-and-white illustrations, provide a unifying sense of dread. The framing device—the curators send letters from the field introducing their latest discoveries—adds depths of mystery, danger, and idiosyncrasy to a book already swimming in each.” – The Horn Book